Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Celebrating 60 Years of Excellence
September 10–12, 2020

MLK Mindfulness Retreat

January 20, 2020

Daniel Goto, Courtney Klappenbach, and Kristian Gubsch.
Three WSU STEM undergraduates receive national Goldwater awards
Courtney Klappenbach, Kristian Gubsch, and Daniel Goto have received prestigious, nationally competitive awards from the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program.

Ava Beck
Fulbright Summer Institute to the U.K. award takes WSU sophomore to Wales
Washington State University linguistics major and Spokane native Ava Beck will study at Aberystwyth University in Wales for three weeks this summer, thanks to a Fulbright Summer Institute to the U.K. award.
Kim Andersen
Kim Andersen to receive WSU Libraries’ Excellence Award
Kim Andersen, Honors College clinical professor, will receive the 2019 WSU Libraries’ Excellence Award during a 1 p.m. reception Wednesday, May 15, in the Terrell Library Atrium.

Our Values

The faculty, staff, and students of the Honors College seek to create a community of learning that values …

Through kindness and support, we demonstrate a genuine interest in each other’s well-being and growth.
We welcome each other’s diverse backgrounds, experiences, and ideas within an inclusive and non-judgmental environment.
We all play an important role in the success of the Honors College and support the efforts of our team members as we work toward achieving a common goal.
We hold ourselves to a high standard in all that we do.

Honors Student Notable Achievements

Congratulations to Nick Camarata. Nick is an undergraduate student working in Ray Quock’s lab, and he was awarded an undergraduate research fellowship from the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Research Program (ADARP).  This will support his Honor thesis proposal, The Effects of Hyperbaric Oxygen on Morphine-Induced Conditioned Place Preference in Female NIH Swiss Mice.

Rita Fuchs Lokensgard (Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience) and Ray Quock (Co-PI) have received a seed grant from the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Research Program (ADARP) for the project, Hyperbaric Oxygen Effects in Rodent Models of Heroin Abuse and Relapse.

Abdelrhman Mohamed,WSU graduate research assistant and Honors College graduate, co-authored a paper, In situ enrichment of microbial communities on polarized electrodes deployed in alkaline hot springs, in the Journal of Power Sources. Read More

Daniel Goto and his teammates took first place overall at the first annual Hack Washington hackathon at Seattle’s Space Needle.

The following Honors College students were recognized with the 2018 President’s Award for Leadership:

Parker Blekkenk

Devon Holze

Keesha Matz

Nam Nguyen

Hannah Oliason

Savannah Rogers

Garrett Snedecker

Elizabeth Warren

Honors College student Elizabeth Warren received the Virginia E. Thomas Endowed Scholarship

Honors College sophomore, Pierce Claasen received a 2018 summer fellowship to conduct clinical and translational research at the Mayo Clinic Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology.

Honors College students Samantha Reyes and Camille Culbertson were awarded Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarships.

Honors College students Bogdan (Theo) Mynka, Garrett Snedecker, and Shi Min Tan were awarded Phi Beta Kappa scholarships.

The following Honors College students received Top Ten Senior Awards:

Campus Involvement: Garrett Kalt and Alyssa Norris
 for Campus Involvement; Joanne Kunze for Community Service; Alice Hiemstra for Performing Arts.

Honors Faculty Notable Achievements:

Annie Lampman has been promoted to Clinical Associate Professor, (effective August 2019)

Sergey Lapin has been promoted to Clinical Professor, (effective August 2019)

Honors College Assistant Dean, Dr. Robin Bond, received the 2018 President’s Award for Leadership

Honors College Administrative Manager, Debbie Howe, received a 2018 NCHC Award for Administrative Excellence.

Invest & Engage

Double Your Dollars! — Your gifts to the new “Dean’s Notable Achievement Fund” allow you to, literally, double your dollars and your impact. Every gift will be matched dollar-for-dollar by an anonymous donor, providing up to $500,000 total to directly benefit Honors students pursuing high-impact educational experiences.

Give to Honors logo